15th International Symposium
on Ticks and Tick-borne Diseases

29–31 March 2023

Congress Details


Sinnecker Kunz Award & Poster Awards 2019

The Sinnecker Kunz Award for early career researchers (ECRs) was presented during the 13th International Symposium on Ticks and Tick-borne Diseases (ISTTBD-XIII) in 2019. The aim of the award was to acknowledge distinguished achievements by ECRs.

The award is named in honour of the late virologist Professor Herbert Sinnecker, who was the first to find tick-borne encephalitis (TBE) virus in Germany and the virologist Christian Kunz, who developed the first European TBE vaccine.

This is the fourth time that the award was presented.

Its our great pleasure to announce the 2019 winners of the Sinneker Kunz session and thank all entries and participants for their efforts. All entries were of great interest in the particular field of research. We are delighted to see ambitious young researches availing of this special platform.
Well done to all of you!

(1) Alexandra Lawrence (Bayreuth/DE) ‘The factors that shape vector aggregation on small mammal hosts’

(2) Michelle Klouwens (Amsterdam/NL) ‘The Ixodesricinus salivary gland proteome during feeding and Borrelia infection’

(3) Adnan Hodzic (Vienna/AT) ‘Canine anti-α-Gal antibodies: Potential role in red meat allergy and protection against tick-borne pathogens’

We would also like to thank all the Poster Award winners for their efforts and participations.

Tick-borne Encephalitis Virus

TBEV-1 Julian Bakker (Wageningen/NL)

‘Understanding the recent emergence of TBEV in the Netherlands ‘

Ticks & others

T&O-10 Helen Esser (Wageningen/NL)

‘Factors affecting co-feeding of Ixodes spp. ticks on rodent hosts in the Netherlands, an emerging area for TBEV‘

Tick-borne pathogens

TBP-10 Evelina Kaminskienė (Kaunas/LT)

‘Molecular detection and characterization of rickettsiae in ticks and mites collected from small rodents in Curonian Spit, Lithuania’

Lyme Borreliosis

LB-14 Florian Röttgerding (Frankfurt a. M./DE)

Determination of the complement-inhibitory activity of different outer surface proteins of Borrelia recurrentis